Plural Of Sorry

26Mar08

I’m an apologizer. Living with me is like a chorus of sorries (sorrys?). My mom will tell you that I always criticize her for apologizing too often and too sincerely. At times it feels like she genuinely blames herself for whatever it is that has happened – my flight is cancelled due to weather and she’s sorry she invited me to come on a trip. But my husband will tell you that I apologize almost as much as my mother.

This morning I woke up even sicker than I was yesterday – so sick in fact that even though Brian had gotten up early to get a short run in before heading off a little bit early to work he changed his plans and told work he wouldn’t be in until after lunch and took care of Evan all morning for me without being asked.

As I curled up in various places around the house – the chair, the couch, the bed – a chorus of sorries rang through my head making me question again why I seem to be so sorry all the time. This morning, for example, I wasn’t sorry I was sick, or at least not sorry in the way that makes you apologize to someone. I wasn’t sorry Brian was staying home because I knew he had the sick time and I knew I really needed his help. I wasn’t sorry at all. And yet I kept wanting to say it to Brian, “I’m sorry about this.” I also would have said “thank you for staying home” about a jillion times if I’d been able to talk between coughs.

Along with my sorries I’m also full of thanks. Somehow the two things are related although I haven’t exactly figured out how.

I can tell you this: I think I figured out this morning that the sorries aren’t so much about guilt or contrition or sorrow. They’re about trying to say something to gauge how the other person feels about the balance of power: You’ve done something for me and I’m not doing anything for you… is that OK? When I haven’t cleaned the kitchen even though I was home all day with Evan and then I apologize when Brian gets home, it’s like I’m really saying, “Does that bug you?” and not “I really wish that I had done the cleaning.”

I wonder why I never realized that before.

Not that this cough is worth the somewhat insignificant personal awareness. At least not while I’m still sick.

11 Responses to “Plural Of Sorry”

  1. I do the same thing. Sorry comes out of my mouth far too often, many times without even thinking. I’m not sorry for my own actions or lack of action, but sorry for the inconvenience caused by those actions on the other person (my husband, usually). But I like your theory, too – maybe I am just trying to say, “Yes, the house is a mess after I was home all day, but you don’t mind, right?”

  2. Hey, I do that too! I do it because I felt guilty. (Growing up Catholic and all.) BUt what you say makes sense. Wow. You do always get epiphanies when you are sick?

  3. Ciao,
    I am Judy and I am a Wedding event Organizer.
    I see this all the time, many best men encounter quite a difficulty, finding the appropriate Inspiration for their next Wedding event!
    Well, how about Hay Rides to insure that it is a real sensation?

    Search at this page! You be able to lease Hay Rides for nice prices!
    Click for more Info!

    Have a good time at your next Wedding event, Judy

  4. If I had a greenback for each time I came to letter9.wordpress.com.. Superb article.

  5. If I had a quarter for each time I came to letter9.wordpress.com.. Incredible article!

  6. Ciao people!
    I am Virgil and I examine this community forum now quite some time and I ought to say, it is truly a remarkable place to be.
    Before I was constantly the individual getting assistance and information here and I have the impression it is time to pay something in return

    Not so long ago I experienced a lot of problems with my roof and I really looked for service. Many times it is all overpriced or the quality is dreadfully bad. My exploration finished, as I found this excellent company. Look below and if you experience trouble with your roof, just get in touch with them. They do famous work!

    One Day Installation With Most Roofs

  7. Hey there everyone. My name is just Monica and my wonderful dearest is Patti.We were only having a event in AZ next seven days. Our Party Party was trendy and great. You would not believe that the most pleasure sprang from a vintage moon bounce rental that absolutely everyone at the spacial occasion savored.
    Arizona party rental made our party dinner a great time and awesome. We, mostly, cherished the water slideing facet given by . Arizona party jumpers . So if you are having a get together soon or having a event, you would best be served to get a Phoenix party bouncers

  8. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s
    a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and
    visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your
    theme? Fantastic work!

  9. Itss like you read my mind! You appear to kknow so much about
    this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you
    can do with some picds to drive the messaqge home a bit, but other than that, this is
    fantastic blog. A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.


  1. 1 anatomy of hatha yoga book

Leave a Reply

